Current Classes

Click here for general information. Read below to find just the perfect class or workshop for you!


DATE NIGHT IN THE STUDIO

All skill levels
Instructors:  Tray Eppes & Pam Butler
Experience the potter’s wheel, hand-build a plate, relax, and have fun!
Tue – Sept 5 -6-8:30 pm
Tue – Oct 3 -6-8:30 pm
Tue – Dec 5  -6-8:30 pm
Cost: $75 per couple -includes materials and adult beverage  

tf8f6
HAND-BUILDING WEDNESDAY

All skill levels
Instructor: Pam Butler
Class meets once a week, includes materials and open studio
• Beginner – learn the basics, making a variety of functional pottery, and learn to glaze
• Intermediate – take your work to the next level
8-week class  Wed -10 am-12:30 pm
Oct 18 – Dec 13
Cost: $280 +$28 tool kit

dscn1217
WHEEL THROWING 1-DAY TUNEUP

Instructor: Randy Edmonson
Intermediate
1-Day class
Need help refining a technique or want to take it to the next level?
Thursday -Sept 14 -10 am-2 pm
Cost $50, includes materials


POTTER’S WHEEL TUESDAY

All Skill Levels
Instructor: Tray Eppes
Class meets once a week; try out the wheel or fine-tune your throwing skills
3-week class Tue -6-8:30 pm
Session 1:  Sept 12, 19, 26
Session 2: Oct 10, 17, 24
Session 3: Nov 7, 14, 28
Session 4: Dec 5, 12, 19
Cost: $90—includes materials


STAINED GLASS

All Skill Levels
Instructor: Steve Barber
Make a stained glass sun-catcher, using copper foil tape and  a soldering iron. Project will be precut before class.  New design:  patchwork quilt pattern
1-day class – Cost:  $55
Wed, Oct 4  -10 am-12:30 pm
Sat, Oct 21  -10 am-12:30 pm
Sat, Nov 11  -10 am-12:30 pm
Fri, Dec 1  -10 am-12:30 pm
Sun, Dec 17  -1-3:30 pm
Sat, Dec 30  -10 am-12:30 pm


MAKE A LEAF WREATH

All skill levels
Instructor: Pam Butler
Hand-build a leaf wreath, great for fall decorating
Day 1 -make the wreath, Day 2 -underglaze to decorate
Sat, Sept 30 -10 am-12:30 pm
Sun, Oct 1 -1:30-3 pm
If you want to make the wreath we can glaze for you.
Cost: $50 -includes materials


COMING IN 2018

Whimsical Figures

One-Day Hand-Building Classes

All Skill Levels Welcome
Bring a friend and save $5 per class
Register by calling 434-315-5715 or email butlerp@mainlyclay.com


Instructor: JJ Eisfelder
Using slabs of clay and a template you will roll or stamp a design into the clay, cut out and assemble. Pick out a glaze color and after drying and firing your piece, we will glaze and fire again in the kiln. Pottery will be ready in 3 1/2 weeks


MUG

Make a mug for your morning coffee
Cost: $30, includes materials
Thur, Oct 19 -6-8:30 pm
Sat, Nov 4 -10 am-12:30 pm
Sat, Dec 16 10 am-12:30 pm


TOAD HOUSE

Make a toad house for your garden
Cost: $45, includes materials
Sun, Sept 10 -1-4 pm


BIRDHOUSE

Make a working birdhouse
Cost: $45, includes materials
Sun, Oct 22 -1-3:30 pm


EVERYTHING OWL

Make large owl bowl, 2 small bowls or a wall hanging
Cost: $35, includes materials
Sun, Oct 8 -1-3:30 pm


CASSEROLE DISH OR BRIE BAKER

Make a working casserole dish or a brie baker
Use in the oven or microwave
Cost: $40, includes materials
Thur, Nov 2 -6-8:30 pm


SOUP MUG

Make 2 serving mugs, great for ice-cream
Cost: $35, includes materials
Thur, Nov 9 -6-8:30 pm

SOAP DISH

Make 2 soap dishes
Cost: $35, includes materials
Sat, Aug 26  -10 am-12:30 pm
Sat, Nov 18  -10 am-12:30 pm

COLANDER

Make a colander to drain berries
Cost: $35, includes materials
Thur, Sept 14 -6-8:30 pm

LEAF PLATTER

Make a large platter using real leaves for texture
Cost: $40, includes materials
Thur, Sept 21 -6-8:30 pm

HALLOWEEN LANTERN

Make a large jack-o- lantern
Cost: $35, includes materials
Thur, Oct 12 -6-8:30 pm


DESK ORGANIZER OR TOOTHBRUSH HOLDER

Great for getting organized
Cost: $35, includes materials
Jan  2018


LARGE BOWL

Make a large fruit bowl or 2 small bowls
Cost: $35 – includes materials
Sun, Nov 19 -1-3:30 pm


LIDDED COOKIE JAR

Make a jar with a lid, great for cookies
Cost: $45 – includes materials
Sun, Sept 24 -1-3:30 pm

YARN BOWL OR CLAY BASKET

Make a bowl to hold yarn and knitting needles or a clay basket
Cost: $45 – includes materials and handle
Thur, Oct 12 -6-8:30 pm

 
FLOWER POT

Make a flower pot with a saucer
Cost: $35, includes materials
Thur, Sept 7 -6-8:30 pm


CHIP & DIP SET

Make a large plate and small bowl, great for parties
Cost: $40, includes materials
Thur, Sept 28 -6-8:30
Sun, Nov 5 -1-3:30 pm


BUTTER-DISH

Make a covered butter-dish, rectangular or round dish for country butter
Cost: $40, includes materials
Sun, Sept 17 -1-3:30 pm


UTENSIL CROCK OR WINE CHILLER

Make a utensil crock or wine chiller
Cost: $35, includes materials
Thur, Oct 26 -6-8:30 pm

ANIMAL MUG & SAUCER

Make 1 animal mug, adding a clay face, creative handle & saucer
Cost: $35, includes materials
Jan  2018


HEART DISH

Make 2 nesting heart dishes
Cost: $35, includes materials
Feb  2018


VASE OR WALL POCKET

Make a vase with a wire handle or a hanging wall pocket
Cost: $35, includes materials
Thur, Aug 31 – 6-8:30 pm

LITTLE DISHES

Make a set of 3 dishes, variety of sizes
Cost: $35, includes materials
Sun, Oct 29 -1-3:30
Thur, Nov 16 -6-8:30 pm


TUMBLERS

Make 2 tumbler glasses
Cost: $35, includes materials
Thur, Nov 30 -6-8:30 pm

LARGE SERVING PLATTER

Make a large serving platter, perfect for the holidays
Cost: $40, includes materials
Sun, Nov 12 -1-3:30 pm

CHRISTMAS TREE LANTERN

Make a large tree ready for a candle or fill with lights
Cost: $35, includes materials
Sun, Nov 26 -1-3:30 pm
Sat, Dec 2 -10 am-12:30 pm
Thur, Dec 7 -6-8:30 pm

PRESTO PLATES

Make 2 presto plates, 1 square and 1 rectangle, use all over the house or in the office
Cost: $35, includes materials
Sat, Dec 9 -10 am-12:30 pm
Wed, Dec 20 -10 am-12:30 pm
Fri, Dec 29 -10 am-12:30 pm